HBO’s Greatest Day in TV Ever

The friendly boy partner I currently share living accommodations with is visiting family so I have the place to myself for the weekend and it seems like the perfect opportunity to binge watch TV. Coincidentally, HBONow compiled a list of the best 24 hours of HBO based on viewer votes and that list is up right now. They’re calling it the #GreatestDayInTVEver, how could I not participate in something with a title like that? They call me the Marketer’s Dream. Now Join me as I go through the list and liveblog the ride.

First episode up is Veep S03E08: Debate. My boy partner has been trying to get me to watch this show for a while. As a long time lover of Julia Louis-Dreyfus, I’ve always wanted to get into this show but have lacked the attention span. “It’s a good show but you have to pay attention,” he tells me. I paid attention to this episode and there’s a lot of good people here. Matt Walsh, Tony Hale. The Greatest Day in TV Ever is getting off to a great start.

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 7.40.07 PM

Next up is Silicon Valley S01E08: Optimal Tip-to-Tip Efficiency.

What a delight!

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 8.14.30 PM

I watched the show while making myself dinner. Normally my boy partner makes dinner, so I often feel insecure in the kitchen because nothing I make is as good as what he cooks. I made a Trader Joe’s Pizza al Pollo Asado with some sautéed brussel sprouts, also from Trader Joe’s. I’m fine.

I liked Silicon Valley so much I proceeded to begin watching another episode right after, but then felt guilty for deviating from the Greatest Day in TV Ever programming so I’ll have to save it for another day. Next stop, Curb Your Enthusiasm S07E10: Seinfeld!

Curb is one HBO show I have actually watched most of the episodes of and am in love with. Anything Seinfeld related I am in love with, so I love that the Curb episode chosen for the Greatest Day in TV Ever was a Seinfeld one! The more Julia Louis-Dreyfus the better. Spot on HBO and HBO viewers who voted for this list, this is a very solid day of TV so far.

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 8.37.31 PM

The Curb theme song just brings me so much comfort. I can’t even explain why. I actually stopped watching Curb right around the Seinfeld episode so it’s nice to be reminded about where I left off so I can remember to finish watching this gem! Great job HBO. Now we move Eastbound & Down! 

Eastbound & Down is another one of my favorite TV shows of all time. For The Greatest Day in TV Ever we are watching S01E04: Chapter 4. I don’t feel quite ready to play the episode yet though. It is 9:30 PM on a Saturday night and Kenny Powers would not approve of my level of sobriety right now. Let me toke a moment to fix this.

#lucillebluthwink

Okay, I showered, did the dishes, changed the bedsheets and played with my cat for 5-10 minutes and drank some tea. I am ready to continue with The Greatest Day in TV Ever.

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 10.39.32 PM

It’s always inspiring watching Eastbound & Down. The wisdom of Kenny Powers is truly infinite.

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 10.41.40 PM

 So in closing, I’d like to give big ups to God, Buddha, L. Ron, whoever. Hell, maybe I just need to thank me…

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 10.41.43 PM

… I had no choice when it came to being great. I just am great. – Excerpt from You’re Fucking Out, I’m Fucking In By Kenny Powers

I had no choice when it came to watching The Greatest Day in TV Ever. I just am watching The Greatest Day in TV Ever. Since Kenny Powers threw out an L. Ron shout out, I thought it’d be appropriate to continue The Greatest Day in TV Ever with the HBO documentary about Scientology which made the list, Going Clear: Scientology. Can’t be the Greatest Day in TV Ever without a documentary and this one was a great choice!

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 11.24.10 PM

I’ve already seen this documentary before but do not mind watching it again because it was so fascinating. I’ve had this itch to understand Scientology more ever since visiting my best friend in Florida this past Summer. She took me to Clearwater to go to the beach and while I was there I was shown the Scientologist Headquarters and visited the first ever Hooters. This day was surreal because my friend gave me some boomers to take. But even without hallucinogenics, Clearwater was a very trippy place.

There was an insane energy in Clearwater that I’ve never felt anywhere else. The only way I can describe what I felt is that I felt like I was inside a 3D movie, everything looked like how 3D movies look. I know this is a three-dimensional world, and I was tripping, but stay with me. You know the distorted, almost pixel-y hologram effect you see when you’re watching some 3D movies? This is how everything looked to me in Clearwater. The air was still, like movie perfect, and the clouds looked like you could touch them because they were so low in the atmosphere. The beach was crazy on this day, the waves were very intense and a storm was looming right next to us but never hit us. You could see the droplets forming on the clouds, that’s how close they were.

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 11.30.43 PM

I spend a lot of time researching anything that helps begin to make sense the complexity of the world we live in. When you begin looking into this stuff, you easily get sucked in. They call it going down the Rabbit Hole in the community of people who are into this kind of information, often called conspiracists. I went down a serious Rabbit Hole when I visited Clearwater and I can’t help but shake that Scientology has something to do with it. So this documentary was definitely an enlightening and interesting watch.

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 11.32.39 PM

I could write a whole post about Going Clear: Scientology, but I think you should just do yourself a favor and watch it if you haven’t already. Next on the list is Ballers S01E03: Move the Chains. This is a show I haven’t seen or even heard about, so I am excited for the first completely new to me thing as we journey through The Greatest Day in TV Ever! I am making coconut banana cookies because what’s a TV viewing session without snacks? That’s right, it’s wrong.

so good, only 2 ingredients. i die!
so good, only 2 ingredients!

I made banana coconut cookies using this recipe and I am astonished by how good they came out! Been trying to use a package of Trader Joe’s Unsweetened Coconut Flakes I picked up a while ago and this was the perfect way to use them. Next time will make when boy partner is around because these definitely should be shared. But snacks out da way, on to Ballers!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 2.17.11 AM

If we’re going to talk about going down the rabbit hole, there is no richer hole than the hidden life of the elite and wealthy. TV shows that give a sneak peek into this life? Yes please, never get me out of this hole. Come to think about it, every show so far gives a sneak peek into the lives of the elite and/or wealthy. No wonder I can’t get get enough!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 2.25.09 AM

We livin’ fam. Next up, Summer Heights High S01E01. Another one I don’t have previously knowledge about.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 2.39.48 AM

I just found my new favorite TV show!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 2.43.45 AM

What a funny show! Can’t believe I’ve never heard of Summer Heights High. Chris Lilley is really great, and this day of TV has been really great! Let’s keep going with Flight of the Conchords S01E05: Sally Returns!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 3.51.23 AM

Kristen Schaal is a horse! We’re really starting to make a dent on this list and we show no signs of slowing down. Next up, True Detective S01E04: Who Goes There. 

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 3.56.28 AM

True Detective is a boy partner absolute fave. He’s been trying to get me into this show for so long, but it really requires an attention span I don’t have. “You should like it, they show your American Apparel bathing suit in the opening credits” he told me once. He is right, I do have that bathing suit.

Photo on 9-27-15 at 4.33 AM #6

The bathing suit is not just in the opening, it’s in this episode!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 4.28.30 AM Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 4.28.32 AM Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 4.28.40 AM

Very dark energy on True Detective, but the US Flag Print Maillot-V Swimsuit is fire and the way I see it, you can do no wrong when your costume dept is on point. This is still The Greatest Day in TV Ever. Still not being paid by HBO to say that. Still watching! Grey Gardens is next on the list, a movie based on a 1975 documentary of the same name.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 5.20.57 AM

I don’t need to be sold on this movie further than Drew Barrymore, but the story sounds very interesting too. Grey Gardens is inspired by a documentary about “an old mother and her middle-aged daughter, the aunt and cousin of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis.” It’s hard to go down the rabbit hole without running into The Kennedy family. You just know you’re on the right path when you’re learning about The Kennedys.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 6.11.31 AM

But am I trying to sleep during The Greatest Day in TV Ever? As willing participants of The Internet, is it possible to not be participating in some form of a social experiment at any given time?

2 thoughts on “HBO’s Greatest Day in TV Ever

Leave a comment