Still Watching HBO’s Greatest Day in TV Ever

Yesterday I started watching HBO’S Greatest Day in TV Ever, a list HBONow compiled of the best day’s worth of HBO programming based on viewer votes. I underestimated just how much TV 24 hours worth of TV is, eventually I had to sleep, but I’m not going to give up on the Greatest Day in TV. I got my 8 hours of sleep in, a torturous 8 hours without TV, but I’m awake, I’ve cancelled social obligations for the day and we’re in this. We’re just going to keep watching TV, real life be damned.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 3.06.39 PM

I left off with Grey Gardens, a movie about the aunt and cousin of Jackie K and their life in the East Hamptons. Ridiculous performances by America’s babe Drew Barrymore and HBIC Jessica Lange. Let’s keep going, let’s keep going I have like 15 hours of TV left and Enlightened S01E01: Pilot is next in the queue.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 3.14.12 PM

Good good stuff. Talented lady, that Laura Dern. Is this still the Greatest Day in TV Ever? You bet your pants it is. I will be an agent of change. Now it’s time for another HBO Films movie Behind the Candelabra! This one’s about Liberace and his gay lover Matt Damon. Too much of a good thing is wonderful!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 4.21.21 PM

Matt Damon in sequined briefs is The Greatest Day in TV Ever.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 5.24.03 PM

Did you know the Gay Mafia is totally a thing?

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 5.24.49 PM

Speaking of mafias, next up is The Sopranos! But first, a word from our sponsor!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 5.00.55 PMBehind the Candelabra

enlightened

True Detective

Ballers

Coke is it!

Now I feel truly ready to watch S01E05: College! I’m glad College is one of the Sopranos episodes on the list because I totally fell asleep while watching this episode with boy partner and it was totally an important one.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 6.13.27 PM

There are two Sopranos episodes on the list of The Greatest Day in TV Ever, and as dinner time approaches we’re just gonna keep it rolling with S03E11: Pine Barrens, a Steve Buscemi directed episode. Definitely starting to feel 1 with the TV right about now.

Photo on 9-27-15 at 8.09 PM

For the first time since beginning The Greatest Day in TV Ever I am beginning to doubt whether I can get through the entire list. I’m feeling super sleepy, but I also just ate turkey so that tryptophan must be hitting hard. Could definitely use a pick me up. I think the next episode on the list, Girls S02E03: Bad Friend is just the episode for the job. What could be crazier than watching a whole bunch of TV and then just writing about it?

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 9.10.46 PM

Bad Friends is definitely an all time favorite episode of mine and it’s perfect that it made the list considering our sponsor for The Greatest Day in TV Ever!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 9.30.37 PM

Coke is it!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 9.31.52 PM

Seriously though, there’s a lot of cocaine references in HBO programming! I have a little bit of beef with glorified portrayals of cocaine on a lot of tv and movies, so I really appreciate this episode of Girls. It gives a pretty accurate depiction of what doing cocaine is really like. It doesn’t glamorize it, but it also doesn’t demonize it which are the two routes most other shows and movies take with cocaine.

Unfortunately I don’t have any Coke to help get me through The Greatest Day in TV Ever. Nope. No caffeine boost here, just unbridled love of TV and a complete disregard for my adult obligations and responsibilities powering me through. Sex and the City S06E06: Splat! here I come, but first I will go shower and dwell on my life choices. I cancelled all my plans this weekend to stay home and watch TV. But it’s not just TV. It’s The Greatest Day in TV Ever. Was it worth it? Is anything worth it?

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 11.27.55 PM

If HBO provided one single most influential image to my developing teenage mind, it was the one of Carrie Bradshaw typing away on her Mac in her bedroom. The fashion was amazing and the adventures were to die for, but the most influential and inspiring thing about Sex & The City for me was Carrie’s work life.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 11.26.30 PM

The whole show was about her work life. Her life was her research and when she wasn’t researching she was writing. She worked all the time. I can’t think of anything else that exposed me to the idea of freelancing and living as a writer when I was a teenager the way Sex & The City did. At least not from a woman’s perspective.

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 11.25.52 PM

You know what I could use more of though?

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 11.13.21 PM

 Another excuse to post a link to an 80s Coca-Cola ad!

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 11.13.28 PM

To be honest a little cocaine would have been very useful when I agreed with myself to watch the entire list on The Greatest Day in TV Ever, but I’m too cool for that and I have work in the morning. Once more I have to call it night, but I will get through The Greatest Day in TV Ever, because this is still The Greatest Day in TV Ever!

TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a Reply

