HBO’s Greatest Day in TV Ever is All I Have Left

Check out this graph fam.Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 8.34.54 PM

It’s a graph of my stats minus the embarrassing numbers (which you can clearly see is 0 on a lot of days so I’m not hiding much). The last two days are the days I published my first two days of watching The Greatest Day in TV Ever. Not only can I not stop watching The Greatest Day in TV Ever because it’s the Greatest Day in TV Ever and I’m not allowed to stop, but I’ve also hit a goldmine. The first goldmine on this blog in its 4 year existence. Stopping would be akin to sacrilege and betrayal.

Photo on 9-28-15 at 8.31 PM
trader joe’s pizza life #dollarpizza

I have about 10 hours remaining in The Greatest Day in TV Ever and we are on day 3 of television watching. I had to take a long TV watching break today because I had to go work for 10 hours. Yes, I worked the amount of hours I have left of The Greatest Day in TV Ever. I could have been finished by now! But at least now I have money, right? Oh wait, no I don’t. I won’t see the check for the work I did today for another month. If I had gotten in a random fatal accident before getting home, I would have spent a whole day being a human robot for nothing and never finished The Greatest Day in TV Ever. Makes you wonder!

The hustle and struggle is why this is The Greatest Day in TV Ever though, and we’re going to keep it going with a story of serious hustle- The Jinx: Robert Durst: S01E06: Chapter 6: What the Hell Have I Done?

Considering yesterday’s super fantastical theme, which included a couple of fictional accounts of real life stories, starting today off with Robert Durst’s story instantly throws me back into the rabbit hole. This is a true story made to look like fiction. I read all about this story before watching this episode and now that I’ve seen the finale, I must watch the whole thing. I can’t believe this story is real! It’s insane.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 9.30.01 PM

I immediately start thinking about two different kinds of people- The people who live the stories and the people who tell them. Just then, boy partner enters through the front door returning home from visiting his family for the weekend. I no longer have the place to myself and suddenly all my inspiration is gone. My mood drops. I just want to be alone. I don’t know why he has this effect on my creativity. Maybe it’s a side effect of love. Maybe it’s because his own creative force is so powerful I feel like it eclipses mine. I don’t know, all I know is that this is The Greatest Day in TV Ever!

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 8.03.31 PM

I want to paint a picture of what it’s like to be an introvert in the place where I live.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 8.03.41 PM

You may have heard of this place. It’s a small town called New York City.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 8.03.47 PM

It’s a city that never sleeps, probably because Coke is it!, but I suspect it’s really because there are more people than there are rooms to sleep in. It’s crowded here and it’s loud here. It’s often smelly and dirty.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 8.03.34 PM

The commute home is particularly difficult and I only make it home because of muscle memory. I feel drunk from sleep deprivation as I walk and I’m not really aware of my surroundings. I can barely hold my head up because it’s so heavy from exhaustion. It’s a shame to walk around New York not looking up. No one talks about it or would admit it, but this is the truth: New York only looks beautiful when you look up.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 8.02.53 PM

Work was very draining. I must have said hello to 1,000 people today. Over and over, a nonstop assault of human after human. That’s what being an introvert in New York City feels like. It feels like constantly being assaulted. I’ve been living here for 28 years and I’ve never adjusted to it. People who are comfortable here are either lying or #illuminati. Animals are incredibly good at being able to adapt to their environments, but city life is not a natural human environment. Ask a fish to get used to land, why don’t you. Maybe if you gave that fish a set of artificial lungs, he could.

Photo on 9-27-15 at 5.03 PM

Take a look at this painting.

Photo on 9-27-15 at 5.03 PM #2

It was a gift and it’s one of my favorite gifts because you can tell the person who gave it to me understood me and also understood The Greatest Day in TV Ever. Bummed about missing the supermoon yesterday because I was inside watching TV all day, I set a Google calendar reminder to not miss the next one in 18 years, then played True Blood S04E06: I Wish I Was The Moon.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 11.22.58 PM

During the Greatest Day in TV Ever, you don’t go outside to see the full moon, the full moon comes to you.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 11.33.51 PM

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 10.55.26 PM

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 11.38.00 PM

I’ve decided my mother would totally enjoy True Blood. It reminds me of the telenovelas she loves. I wonder if she’d be into The Wire? As I wonder this, and fight to keep my eyes open, I begin playing S03E11: Middle Ground.  Just then, boy partner walks in the room. “I don’t understand why people like The Wire so much,” boy partner comments as he sees me watching The Wire, “it’s a weird show.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 12.24.49 AM

I get a text from my boss saying start time for work tomorrow has been pushed back 45 minutes. 45 minutes! That gives me just enough time to comfortably finish this episode of The Wire. 

Photo on 9-29-15 at 1.31 AM #2

But instead I went in a different direction. You must make The Greatest Day in TV Ever your own. I decided to rewatch my new fave Summer Heights High with boy partner and after I headed to bed. I have another long day ahead of me, but rest assured the Greatest Day in TV Ever will resume!

Leave a Reply

